School Music Studies

 

Students interested in studying school music

can find information here on their studies which has been divided into:

From now on, applications for studying can only be made online. An Information Sheet is also available here in pdf form for your information.

 

School Music study regulations – overview

Applies to students from Summer Semester 2003
Status 1 April 2003

 

Subject

Semester week hours

1. Artistic practical music field

First instrument

8

If applicable piano as second instrument

8

Voice

6

Accompaniment

1

Voice theory

1

Choir and orchestra training

 

Choral voice training

2

Choir participation (Studio choir 6, University choir 6)

12

If applicable participation Studio orchestra

12

Compositional technique

7

Aural training

4

Instrumentation/arranging

2

Form theory/repertoire

3

Practical school piano playing
Playing songs, improvisation, playing from schore)

6

Contemporary music

3

Electronic music

1

Jazz / pop in theory and practice

1

Speech training

2

Rhythm

2

Compulsory option speech training or rhythm

1

Practical instrumental course /
Practical school ensemble music

1.5

II. Musicology field

Musicology incl. the history of Pop music and Jazz)

19

Music Pedagogy (

6

Pedagogical studies

6

III. Compulsory option field

Professionally related specialisation

14

IV: Practical lesson field

Practical semester and day placement

 

Practical school exercise

2

A Semester Week Hour describes lessons that are held for one teaching hour on a weekly basis throughout the semester.

Example: The first instrument lesson is comprised of 8 semester week hours.

For students with a first instruments other than piano or organ as first instrument, a semester of participation in the university choir can be substituted for each semester in which the student can prove their participation in the Studio orchestra.

Participation in further taught lectures in the field of Jazz/ Pop, Musicology and Music Pedagogy is recommended.

Participation in further taught lectures in the field of Practical school ensemble music is recommended. Recommended for all SM students; compulsory only for students with first instrument piano or organ. In place of this course a melody instrument lesson can also be taken, provided that there are sufficient teaching capacities available. 

Educational studies can also be taken at the University.

 

 

School Music Study Course - Training for Grammar School Teaching

 

Aim of study course:

Artistic state examination for teaching at grammar schools, specialisation in Music

Admission to a course of study and the study regulations are subject to the prescriptions of the Ministry of Culture and Education, Youth and Sport regarding the artistic state examination for teaching at grammar schools (artistic examination regulations) and the academic state examination for teaching at grammar schools (academic examination regulations), both dating from 13.3.2001, published in the Law Gazette for Baden Württemberg, No. 6 of 22.3.2001. The Law Gazette can be viewed at the University (Student Secretary's Office). On the basis of these examination regulations the University has accordingly enacted study regulations. The study regulations (see above) apply to all students that have started their studies after 31.03.2001. The study plan reproduced on the following pages relates the training subjects of the study regulations to the stages of study or individual study semesters.

 

 

First subject

Voice (in combination with a first instrument) or one of the following instruments have been approved as a first subject and can be chosen at the Mannheim University of Music: Piano, organ, flute, oboe, clarinet, bassoon, horn, trumpet, trombone, violin, viola, violoncello, double-bass, guitar (acoustic), harp, saxophone, percussion instruments. Permission for other instruments that are suitable for music lessons at grammar schools is possible but requires approval by the regional teaching examination office (Office at the Oberschulamt Karlsruhe, Kreuzstr. 11, 76133 Karlsruhe) which is to be obtained before the entrance examinations start.

 

 

Examinations and dates

A. Interim academic examination

The Interim Academic Examination indicates whether the progress of the student since starting at the university indicates that the student will be able to successfully complete their studies within the normal study time. Furthermore, it assists the careers advisory service. The exam should be sat at the end of the 3rd semester of study. The successful passing of the exam is a prerequisite for registering for the first part of the state examination.

The interim exam is sat in the subjects of the instrumental first subject or voice (if this is studied as a first subject), Practical School Piano Playing, Musicology and Music Pedagogy. In the instrumental subjects, in voice and in practical school piano playing this consists of the accompanying assessment which has been carried out as part of the lesson in each subject. For the subjects musicology and music pedagogy, certificates detailing participation in introductory seminar course are to be respectively submitted. Conducting, Theory of Music and if applicable piano as a second instrument are only examination subjects if an assessment is produced by the subject representatives or lectures of the student expressing reservations about the candidate's study success. The examination requirements applicable for this and all other provisions that regard the interim academic examination can be viewed in the interim examination regulations in the Student Secretary's Office.

 

 

B. State examination

The state examination is sat in two or three examination elements at the candidate's choice and the student is also required to write an academic dissertation.

 

Examination subjects:

  1. Voice

  2. Instrumental playing (first instrument)

  3. Conducting (choir and orchestra or ensemble)

  4. Music theory

  5. Piano playing (second instrument) for candidates that have not chosen piano as their first instrument

  6. Musicology

  7. Music Pedagogy

In one of the two theory based subjects (musicology or music pedagogy - at the candidate's choice) an examination paper is prescribed.

 

First examination element: Compulsory at the earliest in the fourth semester and at the latest by the end of the sixth semester. Candidates select from the listed examination subjects a) to e) (however not musicology or music pedagogy) one or two sub-areas for this examination element.

 

Second examination element: Not compulsory. Between the first examination element and the final examination (at the earliest in the sixth semester). The examination is sat in one or more of the above listed examination subjects. However, at least two subject examinations must be sat in the final examination.

 

Dissertation ("Admission dissertation"): Compulsory. The dissertation can either be written in musicology or music pedagogy at the student's choice. Time allowed for writing the dissertation: four months. The topic must be registered with examination office with the examiner's agreement at the latest two months before registration for the final examination.

 

Final examination: In the last semester of study in at least two of the above listed examination subjects.

Specialist subject: From the practical examination subjects, a subject from the "Specialist subjects" is to be chosen with studies generally commencing after the practical semester. Students may choose from the above listed examination subjects a) to d) or "Instrumental playing or voice with jazz specialisation." The examination in the specialist subject can at the candidate's choice be part of the second part examination or the final examination.

 

 

C. Further information

Professionally related specialisation

In accordance with the study regulations of the School Music course of study, each student selects one of the four professionally related specialisations that are offered, with studies generally commencing after the practical semester. The professionally related specialisation is each comprised of around 14 semester week hours.

The following subjects are offered:

 

 

The professionally related specialisation Jazz / Popular Music can only be chosen in combination with the specialisation subject "Instrumental playing or voice (jazz specialisation)". The other professionally related specialisations and specialisation subjects can be freely combined.

 

Proof of achievement (Ln) and Participation Certificates (T)

To register for the examination elements, the following documents are to be submitted:

 

To register for the final examination in Music or to register for the examination in an academic subject at the University: 2 Ln from exercises (seminars) and 1 T from a lecture in Education Science (="Pedagogic Studies"; these can be attended at the University of Music or at the University).

The following proof of achievements are furthermore required at the latest for permission to take the final examination:

Furthermore, a proper course of study has to be proven by means of confirmation of participation from the lecturers for each subject at the end of each semester. This is to be entered on a form sheet that is attached to the student's record of study. For the subjects musicology and music pedagogy, successful participation in one introductory seminar course is the prerequisite for attending seminars.

 

 

Practical semester

The course of study contains one practical semester with a total duration of 13 weeks. In order to be able to continue lessons in individual subjects, school music students generally spend approximately four days a week in the school (students with two university subjects in contrast are required to spend five days a week). To compensate for the fifth week day, an additional "Day placement" is to be attended (recommended for the 3rd semester of studies). More information can be obtained from Professor Dr. Werner Jank.

 

Normal study time and academic subject

The normal study time for the study course School Music is 9 semesters and an academic subject with minor study subject requirements is 4 semesters (including examinations). The normal study time for the study course Music and an academic subject with main subject study requirements can be obtained from the regional teaching examination office. An academic subject can be studied at the same time, staggered or after studying school music; parallel or staggered study of both subjects is preferable.

 

Can be selected as an academic subject

One of the following subjects can be selected as an academic subject on the basis of the subjects of study offered by the University:

Biology, Chemistry, German, English, Evangelical Theology, French, Geography, History, Computer Science, Italian, Catholic Theology, Latin, Mathematics, Philosophy/Ethics (only as main subject), Physics, Politics, Spanish, Sport.

Further subjects are possible as extension subjects (third subjects). Information can be obtained from the regional teaching examination office.

 

 

Specialist subjects

Commencing after the 1st examination element (first instrument, voice, instrumental playing or voice with specialisation in jazz) or after the practical semester (conducting, music theory)

·       First instrument:
Duration of lessons: 1 hour, 4 semesters

·       Voice:
Duration of lessons: 1 hour, 4 semesters
To be agreed with the voice tutor in the last 3 semesters before the voice examination, 0.75 hours accompaniment each.

·       Conducting:
Duration of lessons: 1 hour choir conducting, 1 hour orchestra conducting, each 4 semesters, individual or small group lessons

·       Theory of Music:
Duration of lessons: 1 hour, 4 semesters, individual or small group lessons, additional 2 lectures from the compulsory option field (Theory of Music)

·       Instrumental playing (specialisation in jazz):
Duration of lessons instrumental playing: 0.75 hours "Classical" and 0.75 hours Jazz / Popular Music
The specialist subject "Instrumental playing (specialisation in jazz)“ can only be chosen in combination with the specialisation Jazz / Pop (exceptions are decided on an individual basis upon application).

 

Registration dates for specialist subject:

 

A written declaration of consent from the teacher of the chosen specialisation subject is to be presented by the student in order to register for the specialisation subject. Lessons in the specialisation subject can only be started once this declaration has been presented.

 

 

Study plans

Studiengang Schulmusik

 

Liebe Interessenten für Schulmusik,

hier erhalten Sie Informationen für Ihr Studium gegliedert in:

Eine Bewerbung für einen Studienplatz ab sofort nur noch online möglich. Zu Ihrer Information steht Ihnen hier auch ein Merkblatt als pdf zur Verfügung.

 

Studienordnung Schulmusik – Übersicht

Gültig für Studierende ab Sommersemester 2003
Stand 1. April 2003

 

Fach

Semester-wochen-stunden

I. Künstlerisch-musikpraktischer Bereich

Erstinstrument

8

Ggfs. Klavier als Zweitinstrument

8

Gesang

6

Korrepetition

1

Stimmkunde

1

Chor- und Orchesterleitung

 

Chorische Stimmbildung

2

Teilnahme Chor (Studiochor 6, Hochschulchor 6)

12

Ggfs. Teilnahme Studioorchester

12

Tonsatz

7

Gehörbildung

4

Instrumentieren/Arrangieren

2

Formenlehre / Repertoirekunde

3

Schulpraktisches Klavierspiel
(Liedspiel, Improvisation, Partiturspiel)

6

Zeitgenössische Musik

3

Musikelektronik

1

Jazz/ Pop in Theorie und Praxis

1

Sprecherziehung

2

Rhythmik

2

Wahlpflicht Sprecherziehung oder Rhythmik

1

Instrumentalpraktischer Kurs /
Schulpraktisches Ensemblemusikzieren

1,5

II. Wissenschaftlicher Bereich

Musikwissenschaft (einschl. Geschichte der Popmusik und des Jazz)

19

Musikpädagogik

6

Pädagogische Studien

6

III. Wahlpflichtbereich

Berufsbezogene Schwerpunkte

14

IV: Unterrichtspraktischer Bereich

Praxissemester und Tagespraktikum

 

Schulpraktische Übung

2

Eine Semesterwochenstunde bezeichnet Unterricht, der ein Semester lang wöchentlich mit je einer Unterrichtsstunde erteilt wird.

Beispiel: Der Unterricht des Erstinstruments umfasst 8 Semesterwochenstunden.

Für Studierende mit anderem Erstinstrument als Klavier oder Orgel kann für jedes Semester, für das die bzw. der Studierende die Teilnahme am Studioorchester nachweist, jeweils ein Semester Teilnahme am Hochschulchor entfallen.

Der Besuch weiterer Lehrveranstaltungen im Bereich Jazz/ Pop, Musikwissenschaft und  Musikpädagogik wird empfohlen.

Der Besuch weiterer Lehrveranstaltungen im Bereich Schulpraktisches Ensemblemusizieren wird empfohlen. Empfohlen für alle Studierenden des Studiengangs SM; obligatorisch jedoch nur für Studierende mit Erstinstrument Klavier oder Orgel. Anstelle dieses Kurses kann auch Unterricht an einem Melodieinstrument besucht werden, sofern Unterrichtskapazitäten zur Verfügung stehen. 

Die Pädagogischen Studien können auch an der Universität absolviert werden.

 

 

Studiengang Schulmusik - Ausbildung für das Lehramt an Gymnasien

 

Studienziel:

Künstlerische Staatsprüfung für das Lehramt an Gymnasien, Fachrichtung Musik

Maßgebend für die Zulassung zum Studium und für die Studienordnung sind die Verordnungen des Ministeriums für Kultus, Jugend und Sport über die Künstlerische Staatsprüfung für das Lehramt an Gymnasien (Künst­lerische Prüfungsordnung) und über die Wissenschaftliche Staatsprüfung für das Lehramt an Gymnasien (Wis­senschaftliche Prüfungsordnung), beide vom 13.3.2001, veröffentlicht im Gesetzblatt für Baden-Württemberg, Nr. 6 vom 22.3.2001. Das Gesetzblatt kann an der Hochschule (Studentensekretariat) eingesehen werden. Auf der Basis dieser Prüfungsordnungen erlässt die Hochschule eine Studienordnung. Die Studienordnung (siehe oben) gilt für alle Studierenden, die nach dem 31.3.2001 ihr Studium aufgenommen haben. Der auf den folgenden Seiten wiedergegebene Studienplan ordnet die Ausbildungsfächer der Studienordnung den Studienabschnitten oder einzelnen Studiensemestern zu.

 

 

Erstfach

Zugelassen als Erstfach und von der Musikhochschule Mannheim angeboten werden nach Wahl Gesang (in Verbindung mit einem Erstinstrument) oder eines der folgenden Instrumente: Klavier, Orgel, Querflöte, Oboe, Klarinette, Fagott, Horn, Trompete, Posaune, Violine, Viola, Violoncello, Kontrabass, Gitarre (akustisch), Harfe, Saxophon, Schlaginstrumente. Die Zulassung anderer für den Musikunterricht an Gymnasien geeigneter Instrumente ist möglich, bedarf jedoch einer Genehmigung durch das Landeslehrerprüfungsamt (Außenstelle beim Oberschulamt Karlsruhe, Kreuzstr. 11, 76133 Karlsruhe), die vor Beginn der Aufnahmeprüfung einzuholen ist.

 

 

Prüfungen und ihre Zeitpunkte

A. Akademische Zwischenprüfung

In der Akademischen Zwischenprüfung wird festgestellt, ob die fachlichen Fortschritte des Studierenden seit dem Eintritt in die Hochschule erwarten lassen, dass er sein Studium innerhalb der Regelstudienzeit erfolgreich abschließen kann. Sie dient ferner der Studienberatung. Sie soll am Ende des 3. Studiensemesters abgelegt werden. Ihr Bestehen ist eine Voraussetzung zur Anmeldung zur ersten Teilprüfung des Staatsexamens.

Die Zwischenprüfung wird in den Fächern Instrumentales Erstfach oder Gesang (sofern dieses als Erstfach studiert wird), Schulpraktisches Klavierspiel, Musikwissenschaft und Musikpädagogik abgelegt. In den Instrumentalfächern, in Gesang und in Schulpraktischem Klavierspiel besteht sie aus studienbegleitenden Prüfungsleistungen, die im Rahmen des Unterrichts im jeweiligen Fach erbracht werden. Für die Fächer Musikwissenschaft und Musikpädagogik sind Bescheinigungen über die Teilnahme an jeweils einem Proseminar vorzulegen. Dirigieren, Musiktheorie und ggf. Klavier als Zweitinstrument sind nur dann weitere Prüfungsfächer, wenn von den entsprechenden Fachvertretern bzw. Fachlehrern des Studierenden Gutachten vorgelegt werden, die Bedenken am Studienerfolg des Kandidaten äußern. Die dafür geltenden Prüfungsanforderungen und alle weiteren Bestimmungen, die die Akademische Zwischenprüfung betreffen, können in der Zwischenprüfungsordnung im Studentensekretariat nachgelesen werden.

 

 

B. Staatsprüfung

Die Staatsprüfung wird nach Wahl des Bewerbers in zwei oder drei Teilprüfungen sowie durch die Anfertigung einer Wissenschaftlichen Arbeit abgelegt.

 

Prüfungsfächer:

  1. Gesang

  2. Instrumentalspiel (Erstinstrument)

  3. Dirigieren (Chor und Orchester oder Ensemble)

  4. Musiktheorie

  5. Klavierspiel (Zweitinstrument) für BewerberInnen, die Klavier nicht als Erstinstrument gewählt haben

  6. Musikwissenschaft

  7. Musikpädagogik

In einem der beiden wissenschaftlichen Fächer (Musikwissenschaft oder Musikpädagogik -  nach Wahl des Bewerbers) ist eine Klausurarbeit vorgeschrieben.

 

Erste Teilprüfung: Obligatorisch frühestens im vierten, spätestens bis zum Ende des sechsten Semesters. Die BewerberInnen wählen aus den genannten Prüfungsfächern a) bis e) (nicht jedoch Musikwissenschaft oder Musikpädagogik) ein oder zwei Teilgebiete für diese Teilprüfung aus.

 

Zweite Teilprüfung: Nicht obligatorisch. Zwischen der ersten Teilprüfung und der Abschlussprüfung (frühestens im sechsten Semester). Die Prüfung wird in einem oder mehreren der oben genannten Prüfungsfächer abgelegt. Jedoch müssen mindestens zwei Prüfungsfächer in der Abschlussprüfung abgelegt werden.

 

Wissenschaftliche Arbeit („Zulassungsarbeit“): Obligatorisch. Die Arbeit kann wahlweise im Fach Musikwissenschaft oder im Fach Musikpädagogik geschrieben werden. Zeitraum der Ausarbeitung: Vier Monate. Das Thema muss in Absprache mit dem Prüfer bis spätestens zwei Monate vor der Meldung zur Abschlussprüfung dem Prüfungsamt gemeldet werden.

 

Abschlussprüfung: Im letzten Studiensemester in mindestens zwei der oben genannten Prüfungsfächer.

Leistungsfach: Aus den praktischen Prüfungsfächern ist ein Fach als „Leistungsfach“ zu wählen, dessen Studium in der Regel nach dem Praxissemester aufgenommen wird. Zur Wahl stehen die oben genannten Prüfungsfächer a) bis d) oder „Instrumentalspiel bzw. Gesang (Schwerpunkt Jazz)“. Die Prüfung im Leistungsfach kann nach Wahl des Bewerbers Teil der zweiten Teilprüfung oder der Abschlussprüfung sein.

 

 

C. Weitere Informationen

Berufsbezogene Schwerpunkte

Gemäß der Studienordnung des Studiengangs Schulmusik wählt jede/r Studierende einen von vier angebotenen berufsbezogenen Schwerpunkten, dessen Studium in der Regel im Anschluss an das Praxissemester beginnt. Die berufsbezogenen Schwerpunkte umfassen jeweils rund 14 Semesterwochenstunden.

 Angeboten werden:

 

 

Der berufsbezogene Schwerpunkt Jazz / Popularmusik kann nur in Verbindung mit dem Leistungsfach „Instrumentalspiel bzw. Gesang (Schwerpunkt Jazz)“ gewählt werden. Die anderen berufsbezogenen Schwerpunkte und Leistungs­fächer können frei kombiniert werden.

 

Leistungsnachweise (Ln) und Teilnahmebescheinigungen (T)

Vorzulegen sind zur Anmeldung für die Teilprüfungen in:

 

Zur Anmeldung für die Abschlussprüfung in Musik oder zur Anmeldung für die Prüfung im wissenschaftlichen Fach an der Universität: 2 Ln aus Übungen (Seminaren) und 1 T aus einer Vorlesung in Pädagogik (=„Pädagogische Studien“; diese können an der Musikhochschule oder an der Universität besucht werden).

Spätestens für die Zulassung zur Abschlussprüfung sind ferner folgende Leistungsnachweise zu erbringen:

Darüber hinaus erfolgt der Nachweis eines ordnungsgemäßen Studiums gemäß der Studienordnung durch Teilnahmebestätigungen der Lehrenden für jedes Studienfach am Ende eines jeden besuchten Semesters auf einem Formblatt, das dem Studienbuch beigefügt ist. In den Fächern Musikwissenschaft und Musikpädagogik ist die erfolgreiche Teilnahme an jeweils einem Proseminar die Voraussetzung für den Besuch von Seminaren.

 

 

Praxissemester

Das Studium beinhaltet ein Praxissemester mit einer Gesamtdauer von 13 Wochen. Um den Unterricht in einzelnen Fächern kontinuierlich weiterführen zu können, verbringen Schulmusikstudierende in der Regel ca. vier Tage wöchentlich in der Schule (Studierende mit zwei Universitätsfächern hingegen fünf Tage). Zum Ausgleich für den fünften Wochentag ist ein zusätzliches „Tagespraktikum“ zu besuchen (empfohlen für das 3. Studiensemester). Nähere Informationen bei Professor Dr. Martina Krause.

Merkblatt Praxissemester

 

Regelstudienzeiten und wissenschaftliches Fach

Die Regelstudienzeit beträgt für das Studium im Studiengang Schulmusik 9 Semester und eines wissenschaftlichen Faches mit Beifachanforderungen 4 Semester (einschließlich der Prüfungen). Die Regelstudienzeit für ein Studium der Musik und eines wissenschaftlichen Faches mit Hauptfachanforderungen kann bei den Landeslehrerprüfungsämtern erfragt werden. Das Studium des wissenschaftlichen Faches kann gleichzeitig, zeitversetzt oder nach dem Studium der Schulmusik erfolgen; erwünscht ist das parallele oder zeitversetzte Studium beider Fächer.

 

Wählbar als wissenschaftliches Fach

ist eines der folgenden Fächer nach Maßgabe der von den Universitäten angebotenen Studienfächer:

Biologie, Chemie, Deutsch, Englisch, Evangelische Theologie, Französisch, Geographie, Geschichte, Informatik, Italienisch, Katholische Theologie, Latein, Mathematik, Philosophie/Ethik (nur als Hauptfach), Physik, Politikwissenschaft, Spanisch, Sport.

Weitere Fächer sind als Erweiterungsfächer (Drittfächer) möglich. Auskunft darüber geben die Landeslehrerprüfungsämter.

 

 

Leistungsfächer

Beginn nach der 1. Teilprüfung (Erstinstrument, Gesang, Intrumentalspiel oder Gesang mit Schwerpunkt Jazz) bzw. nach dem Praxissemester (Dirigieren, Musiktheorie)

·        Erstinstrument:
Unterrichtsdauer: 1 Stunde, 4 Semester

·        Gesang:
Unterrichtsdauer: 1 Stunde, 4 Semester
In Absprache mit dem Gesanglehrer in den letzten 3 Semestern vor der Gesangprüfung jeweils 0,75 Stunden Korrepetition

·        Dirigieren:
Unterrichtsdauer: 1 Stunde Chordirigieren, 1 Stunde Orchesterdirigieren, jeweils 4 Semester, Einzel- oder Kleingruppenunterricht

·        Musiktheorie:
Unterrichtsdauer: 1 Stunde, 4 Semester, Einzel- oder Kleingruppenunterricht, zusätzlich 2 Lehrveranstaltungen aus dem Wahlpflicht-Bereich (Musiktheorie)

·        Instrumentalspiel (Schwerpunkt Jazz):
Unterrichtsdauer Instrumentalspiel: 0,75 Stunden „Klassik“ und 0,75 Stunden Jazz / Popularmusik
Das Leistungsfach „Instrumentalspiel (Schwerpunkt Jazz)“ kann nur in Verbindung mit dem Schwerpunkt Jazz / Pop gewählt werden (Ausnahmen bedürfen der Einzelfallentscheidung auf Antrag).

 

Meldetermine für das Leistungsfach:

 

Zur Anmeldung für das Leistungsfach ist vom Studierenden eine schriftliche Einverständniserklärung der Lehrerin/des Lehrers des gewählten Leistungsfachs vorzulegen. Der Unterricht im Leistungsfach kann erst nach Vorlegen dieser Erklärung aufgenommen werden

 

 

Studienpläne